Quick Picks from CMCL

July 9, 2013

Blurbs From the Branch: Fantastic Dragon Series for Middle Readers

Filed under: Blurbs from the Branch, Books, Kids — Tags: , , , — Becca B @ 8:00 am

dragon's milkdealingwithdragonshowtotrainyourdragoneragonfirewithin

Here’s a list of some fun series for middle grade readers that all feature dragons!

The Dragon Chronicles by Susan Fletcher – Strong female characters dominate these four books that center on a young woman named Kaeldra and her descendants, all of whom have the ability to communicate with dragons. The first book to read in this series is Dragon’s Milk.

The Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia C. Wrede – This series follows the feisty Princess Cimorene as she leaves her own, boring kingdom, and ends up in the Enchanted Forest where she becomes maid to a dragon. Full of humor and adventure, these books are a must read for any dragon fan. The magic starts with Dealing With Dragons.

How to Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell – This humorous series is narrated by an unusual Viking named Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III, who must make up his own rules on dragon training when he and his other Viking friends capture some to tame as pets. His adventures begin with How to Train Your Dragon.

The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini – This cycle of four books is all about a teenaged farm-boy who hatches a dragon from an egg he finds in a mountain, piquing the interest of an evil king. Eragon is the first book to read in this series.

The Last Dragon Chronicles by Christopher D’Lacey – David Rain is a college student who lives with a potter and her daughter. He soon discovers that the clay dragons his landlord makes can come to life, and that each has a unique magical power. It all starts with The Fire Within.

My Father’s Dragon by Ruth Stiles Gannett – This classic series tells the story of Elmer Elevator, a young boy who leaves home to rescue a baby dragon from Wild Island. The story is told by Elmer’s son some years after the action has happened. My Father’s Dragon is the first of three books.

The Pillagy Trilogy by Obert Skye – Beck Phillips moves to a mysterious town to live with his uncle, a reclusive man with many secrets, in a large mansion. He soon discovers that he can hatch and raise dragons, getting help from an odd book of family history. Pillage is the book to read first in this trilogy.

The Pit Dragon Chronicles by Jane Yolen – These books focus on a young man name Jakkin, who works on a ranch that breeds and raises dragons for pit fighting. One day he steals a hatchling to raise as his own, with the help of a girl named Akki. Dragon’s Blood is the first of four books.

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman – Hartman’s dragons are atypical of those that appear in most fantasy. They are able to shift into human form in order to better communicate with the people that live in the land of Goredd. Tensions run high between the two species. The main character, Seraphina, is an extremely talented court musician with a secret she must keep from those around her. Seraphina is currently the only book in this series, but the second is due out sometime later this year.

Wings of Fire by Tui Sutherland – Unlike the rest of the series on this list, this one features dragons as the main characters. The five young dragons, or dragonets, of these books have been destined from birth to stop the terrible war being fought between the different dragon tribes in their land. The Dragonet Prophecy is where it all begins.


myfather'sdragonpillageDragon's Bloodseraphinawingsoffire

The Shocking Blue Green Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 413 other followers

%d bloggers like this: